Home Teaching Tunes Resources Forum Museum Store Contact
Scottish Slow Session 1

The Scottish Slow Session Vol.1

THIS BOOK IS for people learning an instrument who want to start playing in sessions. Sessions can be confusing and seemingly hostile environments, and it's partly for those reasons that "slow sessions" exist: to create a friendly, inclusive space for the enjoyment of playing music with others. I'm passionate about introducing people to the joys of playing music, but if you're not lucky enough to have a more experienced musician willing to lead your session, you're going to have to organise things for yourselves. These books, and additional material on my website, aim to help.

Also available as an eBook (digital download, PDF format).

  • 72nd's Farewell to Aberdeen
  • 79th's Farewell to Gibraltar
  • Banks of the Allan
  • Barnyards o' Delgaty
  • Barren Rocks of Aden
  • Battle of the Somme
  • Boy's Lament for his Dragon
  • Boys of Blue Hill
  • Braes of Dunvegan
  • Britches Full of Stitches
  • Clean Pea Strae
  • Cock o' the North
  • Dornoch Links
  • Dunse Dings A'
  • Egan's Polka
  • Fear a Figue
  • Glenside No.1
  • Glenside No.2
  • Greenwoodside
  • Harvest Home
  • Hector the Hero
  • Hopeful Lover, The
  • Island Dance
  • Jack Is Yet Alive
  • Kenmure's On and Awa'
  • Memories of Fr Angus
  • Mrs MacLeod
  • Muckin' o' Geordie's Byre
  • Oovie Avie
  • Oyster Wives' Rant
  • Peat Fire Flame, The
  • Ronas Voe
  • Rope Waltz, The
  • Scarce o' Tatties
  • Snug In a Blanket
  • Soldier's Joy
  • Spootiskerry
  • Starry Nights o' Shetland
  • Stronsay Waltz, The
  • Willafjord
Buy Scottish Slow
Session Vol.1 £4.00

Buy Scottish Slow
Session 1 eBook £3.00
Published: March 2014
Pages: 20
Tunes: 40
Price: £4.00

Nigel Gatherer, Crieff, Perthshire |